Rhode Island Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties

Rhode Island Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties

April 6, 2017

Since driving under the influence (DUI) often results in serious and even fatal accidents, the State of Rhode Island has imposed strict laws and penalties. The penalties for DUI’s vary depending on the individual’s previous history with DUI’s and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If an individual is charged with a DUI for the first time, the penalties are often a combination of fines, community service, license suspension, and enrollment in a driving while intoxicated (DWI) course. However, the penalties significantly increase for repeat offenders and include mandatory fines, license suspension, and mandatory imprisonment.

First Offense DUI: BAC is between .08% and .10%

  • Imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • Fine between $100 and $300
  • License suspension between 30 to 180 days
  • Complete between 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program
  • Enrollment in a DWI course

First Offense DUI: BAC is between .10% and .15%

  • Imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • Fine between $100 and $400
  • License suspension between 3 to 12 months
  • Complete between 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program
  • Enrollment in a DWI course

First Offense DUI: BAC is between .15% or above

  • Imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • Fine of $500
  • License suspension between 3 to 18 months
  • Complete between 20 to 60 hours of community service
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program
  • Enrollment in a DWI course

Second Offense DUI Within 5 Years: BAC is between .08% and .15%

  • Imprisonment between 10 days to a year
  • Mandatory fine of $400
  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program

Second Offense DUI Within 5 Years: BAC is between .15% or above

  • Mandatory imprisonment between 6 months to 1 year
  • Mandatory fine not less than $1000
  • Mandatory license for 2 years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program

Third Offense DUI Within 5 Years: BAC is between .08% and .15%

  • Imprisonment between 1 to 3 years
  • Mandatory fine of $400
  • License suspension between 2 to 3 years
  • Enrollment in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program

Third Offense DUI Within 5 Years: BAC is .15% or above

  • Mandatory imprisonment between 3 to 5 years
  • Mandatory fine between $1,000 to $5,000
  • Mandatory license suspension for 3 years

It is important to note that many of the license suspension periods that have been spoken of in the aforementioned paragraphs can be reduced by utilizing Rhode Island’s Ignition Interlock Statute 31-27-2.8.

Contact a Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer
Attorney Hein has been successful in defending those who have been criminally accused. Craig’s style is both aggressive and steadfast. From your first conversation with him, you will realize both his capability in the court room and ability to alleviate much of your stress. Craig has made a living out of turning problems into solutions and does not rest until he does everything possible to achieve a desirable outcome. For a free consultation please call 401-619-7214.

You May Also Like